top of page

Got relationship woes? Here are 3 tips ...

I had the strangest dream the other night. It was about a couple of friends I have not seen since my early college years. I dreamed they had a married daughter who attended the church of our youth.

The father of this daughter posted a list of rules on Facebook to be followed by any boy who wanted to date his daughter. I remember chuckling, thinking the result of this list would be one safe girl and one scared bunch of guys.

I woke up mulling over this dream.

I came up quick, realizing that the dream was real! Our heavenly father has already written that list and posted it. The posting is in the Bible.

What does the Bible say, exactly, about dating? The short answer: nothing. Dating is a modern phenomenon. Since dating is a cultural thing, the Bible does not address it directly, but that does not mean the Bible is silent on the subject!

II Timothy 3:16 tells us that the scripture guides us in all areas of life. So there must be some “guidance” found within the pages of the Bible. Here is a summary of what my friends’ son-in-law might have posted:

You will treat my daughter with respect and encourage her (I Thes. 5: 11).

There are no special privileges for those who are dating my daughter. Consider yourself and act like you are her brother (I Timothy 5: 1-2).

Set physical boundaries. Sexual relations is an affront against my daughter and against God. (1 Thes. 4:1-8).

There is much more in the scripture, but this is a good start.

God is clear. The Bible does not leave us confused. What is confusing is adding all of man’s rules to God’s. I don’t know if my friends’ son-in-law needs this list, but many of us with teen children and grandchildren have the obligation of teaching what God says about dating.

I have no idea where dreams come from, but this one really “bugged me," so I turned it into this gift for you.

Satan is so strong, his temptations so pleasing. Christians, we need to guard our hearts and the hearts of our children.

Have a blessed week as you mull over your dreams!

Regina

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page